Review: “It’s Not Like It’s a Secret” by Misa Sugiura 🌷


It's Not Like It's a Secret by Misa Sugiura
IT’S NOT LIKE IT’S A SECRET by Misa Sugiura

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

I? Loved? this? Book???

Ive seen some less positive reviews on It’s Not Like It’s a Secret and I totally! disagree!!!

I jumped into this book with the expectation of some adorable f/f romance and just relatable teenager characters. Instead, I got some adorable f/f romance and just relatable teenager characters PLUS a lot of racist/stereotype confrontations, making the reader step back and think about how our society truly works.

⚡️ Some fabulous things ⚡️

* Character development and adorable teen girls
* Really cute girl-girl romance and struggles to discover identity, but like in a good way (???)
* Honest to goodness this cover art
* Deals with important subjects like racism and how the general population views certain people of color can change lives
* Im sHiPpIng Jamie x Sana deguiwasbjdakbm
* Heyyyy it’s set in Cali and so I totally get the weather thing (used to live there)
* JUST REALLY CUTE
* Meaningful poetry sprinkled throughout this book (I just used sprinkled in a sentence Im so happy)
* fbuisafh9bciwuafh my heart broke a bit
* Family acceptance
* Japanese culture!! Soo cool
* I was so proud I could read the Spanish when characters spoke in here
* This is the First Book Ever To Use Actual Emojis When Characters Are Texting *gasps*

⚡️ Some… less fabulous things ⚡️

* Soooo… I get that this book is dealing with racist topics and all, and that’s so great, but some of the lines in here had me like “what the heck was THAT”
for example…

“But you can’t be a lesbian. You’re Asian. Asian girls aren’t lesbians!” ??!!??!?!?

“Maybe that’s because Mexican kids don’t do their homework.” ha ha ha what.

* “I let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding.” d i e

But other than that this book was so fabulous and will forever have a place in my heart! Five amazing stars!!!

Also I finished this within a day (Christmas, too) so I deserve some cake

One thought on “Review: “It’s Not Like It’s a Secret” by Misa Sugiura 🌷

Leave a comment